Gluten is the generic name for certain types of proteins contained in the common cereal grains wheat, barley, rye and their derivatives that must be eliminated. The good news is that all fresh fruits, vegetables, beef, chicken, fish, lamb, pork and dairy products are naturally gluten-free.
Rice, corn (maize), soy, potato, tapioca, beans, garfava, sorghum, quinoa, millet, buckwheat, arrowroot, amaranth, teff, Montina®, flax, and nut flours
Research indicates that pure, uncontaminated oats consumed in moderation (up to 1/2 cup dry oats daily) are tolerated by most celiacs. Gluten-free oats are currently available in the United States. Consult your physician or dietician before including oats in your diet and for regular monitoring.
Distilled alcoholic beverages and vinegars are gluten-free. Distilled products do not contain any harmful gluten peptides. Research indicates that the gluten peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process. This process leaves the resultant liquid gluten-free.
Wines and hard liquor/distilled beverages are gluten-free. Beers, ales, lagers and malt vinegars that are made from gluten-containing grains are not distilled and therefore, are not gluten-free. Gluten-free beers are available in the United States.
NOT ALLOWED IN ANY FORM
Wheat (einkorn, durum, faro, graham, Kamut®, semolina, spelt), rye, barley and triticale
Frequently overlooked foods that may contain gluten and need to be verified:
- Brown rice syrup
- Breading & coating mixes
- Energy Bars
- Flour or cereal products
- Imitation bacon
- Imitation seafood
- Panko (Japanese bread crumbs)
- Processed luncheon meats
- Sauces, gravies
- Self-basting poultry
- Soy sauce or soy sauce solids
- Soup bases
- Stuffings, dressing
- Thickeners (Roux)
- Communion wafers
- Herbal supplements
- Drugs & over-the-counter medications
- Nutritional supplements
- Vitamins & mineral supplements
- Play-dough: a potential problem if hands are put on or in the mouth while playing with play-dough.
Hands should be washed immediately after use
If In Doubt Go Without!
When unable to verify ingredients or the ingredient list is unavailable – DO NOT EAT IT. Regardless of the amount eaten, it is not worth triggering your immune system and the damage to the small intestine that occurs every time gluten is consumed, whether symptoms are present or not. A person with celiac disease may have additional food sensitivity not related to gluten.
Wheat Free Is Not Gluten-Free
Products labeled wheat-free are not necessarily gluten-free. They may still contain spelt, rye or barley-based ingredients that are not GF. Spelt is a form of wheat.
Contamination in Food Preparation
When preparing gluten-free foods they must not come in contact with food containing gluten. Contamination can occur if foods are prepared on common surfaces, or with utensils that are not thoroughly cleaned after preparing gluten-containing foods. Using a common toaster for GF bread and regular bread is a major source of contamination. Flour sifters should not be shared with gluten-containing flours. Deep fried foods cooked in oil shared with breaded products should not be consumed. Spreadable condiments in shared containers may also be a source of contamination. When a person dips into a condiment a second time, with the knife (used for spreading), the condiment becomes contaminated with crumbs (e.g. mustard, mayonnaise, jam, peanut butter and margarine).
Wheat flour can stay airborne for many hours in a bakery (or at home) and contaminate exposed preparation surfaces and utensils or uncovered gluten-free products. Likewise, foods not produced in a gluten-free environment have the potential to be contaminated with gluten. This may occur when machinery or equipment is inadequately cleaned after producing gluten-containing foods. Food manufacturers are required to abide by Good Manufacturing Practices outlined in the FDA Code of Federal Regulations to reduce the risk of contamination in manufacturing. Let common sense be your guide.